Is Strong Really The New Sexy?

We’ve all seen the memes. “Strong is the new skinny”. “Strong is the new beautiful”. “Strong is the new sexy”. Even “Strong is the new healthy” – I mean, come on, there’s nothing healthy about squatting 150 kilos if your joints, ligaments and vertebral discs are asked, is there?

For me as an aspiring strength athlete and a woman it seems this new trend is only another way of forcing us into a certain mold. A surely eye-appeasing mold for some, but still something that is defined by others. Society. Men. Other women. Marketers. Snake oil weight-loss product salespeople.

In the last few years, the pressure has been on for young women – and men – more than ever to fit (pun intended) even a more demanding stereotype of looking good. The fitness look.

Image source

I mean, come on, have you seen any “strong-is-the-new-what-the-heck-ever” memes / “inspirational” images with ordinary people in them? Even ordinary people who look like they lift? If you have, please send the link to me. Because what I’ve seen is photoshopped twenty-something fitness models in teeny weeny skintight attire. I guess some people are motivated to work out by looks. And that’s fine. But… Focusing on your appearance as the prime motivator for exercising can lead to some very unhealthy behavior models.

In the past, we women only had skinny, borderline or straight anorexic models to look up to, and all you “had to do” to try and achieve that “look” was to starve yourself. Or binge and purge, if you had bulimic tendencies. Nowadays, that’s not enough. You still have to starve yourself, but now you also must run or cycle for hours every day and lift hard and heavy. And have breast augmentation surgery.

I like how my body looks due to years of lifting. I’ve always loved toned, muscular physiques since my early teenage years. But it’s not my first priority. I don’t know if it should be anyone’s. My outside appearance is just a bonus. When I look at myself in the mirror, I can at the same time be satisfied and proud of myself and still objectively evaluate my physique. Do I need bigger and rounder delts? What about my thigh side sweep? Is my back wide enough? Even if I would in the future compete in figure, I don’t intend to ever let my looks dictate how I should feel about myself. A competition placement or having or not having washboard abs should never define your value as a person.

This is the kind of image that motivates me to keep on lifting:

Edith Traina, a 94-year old powerlifting World Champion

Why do I lift weights? The reasons are numerous. Simply being strong is great. Lifting heavy shit I see men struggle to move, whether it be a bar loaded with plates or a huge couch, is awesome. I also crave the physical rush of endorphins, and the emotional high of accomplishment. My mood is so much better when I exercise regularly. I like to push myself and test my limits, but also enjoy the daily grind. Getting a new PR is always a great confidence booster, but just going in to the gym and doing my assigned workout is motivating for me. I like daily routines and can stand slow progress.

I also want to be as healthy and strong as possible when I grow old. With my numerous medical conditions – asthma, immunodeficiency, adrenal insufficiency, hypothyroidism, hypertension, not to mention my troublesome spine with scoliosis, spondylosis and olisthesis I would be so much worse if I wouldn’t keep myself in shape. Regarding my health, keeping my weight under control by exercising and eating a balanced diet is also important.

Lifting is a lifestyle for me. Your reasons to lift weights and what motivates you may be similar to mine of differ substantially. Find your own reason.

“Whatever your body type is, just use it.”

Hammer thrower Amanda Bingson, ESPN Body Issue 2015
Amanda Bingson’s interview: ESPN Body Issue 2015

Strong is just strong. Period. How about we quit continuosly looking in the mirror and concentrate on hitting those PR’s instead? With or without makeup. Nails painted or not. Wearing form-fitting, latest-fashion gym clothes or worn-out sweatpants with a baggy T-shirt. Not caring if it’s trendy, sexy, or even sane. It’s simply what we love to do. Lift.

xoxo,

Veera

7 thoughts on “Is Strong Really The New Sexy?

  1. I love this! I also love the last picture- when that issue came out I was so excited that they’d included athletes of all builds, not just the skinny/strong/aesthetically “pleasing” ones. I looooove lifting and am actually looking forward to gains (mainly on the booty)- I love the prevalence of women who lift on social media, but I do hear where you’re coming from. The other day I got in a conversation with a guy who was insisting that ALL women should squat, whilst looking me up and down pervily. I was like Jesus it’s my decision if I squat, lift, run, swim, whatever! And if I squat for a nice ass it’s for me and not for you to perv on!

    Ugh. Rant over! Anyway I have a post about lifting coming out in a few hours 🙂

    (ps have you checked out Chelsealifts on Youtube? She’s a powerlifter and doesn’t give a fuck about being “big” and takes no shit when people say she looks “manly” or “bulky”). She’s my girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You lift for a purpose that is your own. There are so many different reasons why people work out that is is difficult to say what is the norm. When it comes to strength sport, there is in fact a new trend towards being “strong, “jacked” and shredded”. I just like it plain and simple with focus on pure strength. Some may disagree, but that’s their cupcake

    Like

Leave a comment