The Caleb Saga by Sonata Arctica

~Caleb~

“There is a man in this world, who has never smiled
You may know his tragedy, the later years, by heart
In the beginning, there was a mother, a father, and a child
A troubled little silent boy, whose life they worked to destroy
Known to us from this day on
By his father,
Caleb.”

His mother came up with such a clever way to save the day with a little white lie.
He thinks he missed the point back then, but now he’s grown to understand it, in a way.

“Father said “I’m sorry” only once, as I remember”
“The words were not meant to hurt, only destroy you, my stupid son…”
One person can make a difference, sometimes…
Just turn his head when the kid is still and has a weak neck.

Smiled at his funeral, “happy you’re dead.”

All his solutions, it seemed, were only problems in disguise
Glueing on his drinkin’ face, got ready to erase another day…

Mother was yet confident, although they had it tight, taught her son
At the end of every tunnel’s a little light.
It wasn’t a lie, it was her hope, that everything would be fine one day
“He can fulfill his every dream, I’m happy as long as he’s not.”

“I hate it and fear can’t face it
the child is not right, he’s my greatest shame

Go out, create thunder, and stand right under
That old apple tree
Where dead snakes let him feed on those

Lost hopes, all those kind words could hurt him even more, now
Somehow, lost one more way back home

Out on the lake, he rows towards a monster he should’ve been running away from, years ago.
The past had made him blind to the way he’d turned the pain into a way of life.

Followed his father, tucked him in, Caleb knows the trade.
He’s the portrait of a man his mother drew to hate forever.
She was a beast, a deadly saint, wrong in many ways
Wanted to keep up the charade, until the end waltzing together

Over the hills, under the sea,
Fighting the will, whole Universe
Why does a man driving a hearse
Live in fear, Gift and a Curse

Taking ’em out, taking ’em all,
Shooting the wall, over and out
When nothing moves, all’s well,
A decision he can find a way to live with

…and dried up flowers are so beautiful.
And it applies to all things living, and dead.
For that I serve my time… in my suite in Hell.

“Now I ring the bell to tell the world,
I’m ready when they bring out the soon to be dead against the wall …”
oo-oo-ooo
This necessary evil has no heart
ooo-oo-ooo
Flowers and people he will now enlace
A price he must pay serving a cold
…whatevergod.

~The End Of This Chapter~

[Intro]
[Phone rings]
“Hello?
Well, well, how are you?
Uh.. who is this?
Who do you think this is?
Stop it.. who is this?
You know very well who I am..
You almost got away from me, didn’t you?
Oh my god.. you can’t be.. you can’t be!
Ha ha
Oui, oui, mon amour… c’est moi.”

[Chapter One]
I gave you my time
I gave you my whole life
I gave you my love, every dime
They told me it was… a crime

Do you remember?
Or did it all go in vain..?

[Chapter Two]
I looked in the light, I sat in your coal mine
The promise they made, I should keep?
Make sure that we would never meet

I can’t remember
The promise I made so deep

Tell me that past times won’t die…
Tell me that old lies are alive

[Chapter Three]
Across darkened skies, I travelled without a light
I sank in the well of my mind
Too deep, never to be found

I can’t remember…
How could you be so vain…

Tell me that past times won’t die…
Tell me that old lies are alive
Love that expired too long time ago
Kills me, it thrills me…

[Chapter Four]
You have new love and
It looks good on you
I have never wished you dead, yet.

You can now have all the things I could never give to you
Look out the window “c’est moi”…

[Chapter Five]
I’m sorry, I am here
I’m not sure if it should bring you fear
I whisper in your ear
Why is he here’

[Chapter Six]
While you are sleeping, I steal your ear ring
Light you one candle, this anger I handle

They said I won’t find you, but now I’m beside you
I’m not all that stable
You should know by now that you are mine…

Tell me that past times won’t die… Tell me that old lies are alive

I tell you that past times won’t die…
I tell you that old lies are alive
Love due to expire too long time ago
Kills me, it will kill you… too

Past times won’t die…
I tell you old lies are alive
Hate to conspire too long time ago
Kill me, please kill me before

Tell you that past times won’t die…

~Don’t Say A Word~

I am your poison candygram
The love that’s ment to fade away
Vade retro, alter ego, move aside, I’m choking on this life
I think I tolerate your hate, as long as you’re afraid
All I wanted was to be with you and suffer every day…

Under the moon I hold a wake for a promise torn
Mortally wounded, feelings sheltered me
Once again my shadow will enter your life
Time to walk with me the last mile…

I read a book about a man, a love, a woman, how they died
How I was waved aside, listen how the headless doves cry
I truly see a madman in the mirror when I’m weak
I spent a year in love before I realized it’s me

Open your blue eyes, tell me that you love me, whore
Make me believe it, oh I know you’re lying
Broke the vow I thought you made, my angel, why…
Could I let you wait out the night?

Mother always said “My son, do the noble thing…”
You have to finish what you started, no matter what,
Now, sit, watch and learn…
“It’s not how long you live, but what your morals say”
Cannot keep your part of the deal
So don’t say a word… don’t say a word

It won’t be long now, love, like mist I slowly fill the room
I place a black candle on your chest,
The path of night is manifest
I never wanted us to end up in this catatonic phase
It wasn’t me who ran away, you made me stray…

Open your blue eyes, tell me that you love me, whore
Make me believe it, oh I know you’re lying
Broke the vow I thought you made, my angel, why…
Settling the score, we pass the twilight…

Mother always said “My son,
Do the noble thing…”
You have to finish what you started, no matter what,
Now, sit, watch and learn…
“It’s not how long you live,
But what your morals say”
Cannot keep your part of the deal
So don’t say a word… don’t say a word

Strawberry blonde, your stranglehold
On my heart is bound to end
I suppose, life sometimes,
It doesn’t go the way it was meant
Though you never were a believer,
I assure you: I won’t die before you
You read the book now,
The part “Ashes to ashes, dust to dust”

Short is the fight of this little starling
Love sounds familiar, but the emotion escapes me
I will carpe the diem while it’s still here,
And see how the fear of death becomes her

We had it all so sweet
Made for me, you, indeed…
Big secret, small the lie
Don’t cry for me, oh, argentite

No word you say tonight
Can make this be alright
I’ll help you follow through
Remember this?: Pacta sunt servanda

… The wounds are too deep,
I need to keep the scars
To prove there was a time
When I loved something more than life

Unlike the last time here,
I now have the means and a will sincere
Your knight is nowhere near
Unfortunate for you, this makes me your God…

Closing your eyes, don’t ever say you love me, whore
You never meant a word, I know you lied
When there is life, there is despair, indulge me now
And stay alive this night… I promise you the end before the first light arrives…

~Juliet~

“These are my final lines,
I’ve lived all my nine lives,
My nights are over, cannot feel your heart anymore”

I lived only trough you,
My scar, my heart, my truth,
I do not want to die,
But no more can I love you!!!

How hard it is to understand
My wish to die hand in hand?
This night’s like a dream
You will be the last thing I will see

I hold your hand, close my eyes all I love finally dies
Drank the poison most foul with you…
But why do you smile?

…Don’t smile
Don’t you smile
You were supposed to wither away with me, so, Juliette
Please don’t smile
I’m paralysed and you are still alive.

Life is but a long, sad game
Lifeless souls, avoiding shame
Two dead swans is all we need
To pave the winding memory lane.

No hellos, no bad goodbyes
Wailing, distant, silent cries
You can live with my pain,
It’s your own you cannot take?

You played the game and lost,
I wonder how you can,
Hold the cards for a dead man

The light and the clarity
Welcome change for the life in the darkness,
Sea of my sanity…

Lost in the vanity…
All I ever wanted; to be lost in you,
My burden, the hatred…

My own reality…
Mirrors and smoke
The final truth unfolds

…Your reality…
Mirrors my hopes,
Where you will need me…

They never find us again once the trail has gone cold
They never find us again once the trail has gone cold
I’m a restless soul, I’ll make the best ghost
All things good end into a…

Minute of silence!
– I get myself in line
One minute of silence
– To face my own demise
One minute of silence
– This is not what I signed for…
One minute of silence
– You double-crossing, filthy whore…

I sit with someone in the dark
I’m so afraid to see it’s me again…
You had a change of heart,
Now we’re all getting hurt…

Ladies and gentlemen,
Welcome to my life again
Walk with me, every curve, every bend
This promenade that seems to come to an end

You know what you meant to me,
Emptied the room in your life that I paid for
When I lost my sanity
I made a mess I am now here to clean

It is too late to regret anything tonight
After what has come to light
…You have played me for a fool, for all this time?
The story may rewrite itself after I’m gone
One more breath, the day will dawn

How hard it is to understand
My wish to die hand in hand?
These wounds stay open all night long,
You are the last thing I will see…

I lived only by you,
My scar, my heart, my truth,
My sole reason to die… for
There’s no life without you

These are my final lines, I’ve used all my nine lives,
My life is over, cannot feel your heart anymore

I lived only by you,
My scar, my heart, my truth,
Have no reason to live,
I can’t feel the love anymore…

This is… the end… Why…?
You’re closing my eyes...

Sonata Arctica is my first power metal love and Tony’s voice, amazing talent in songwriting and composing still takes my breath away every time. Mesmerizing, touching, twisted and dark, melancholic, …formidable.  Close your eyes and let Tony take you for a trip into the tragic life of Caleb… Hope you’ll enjoy the journey! ❤

xoxo,

Veera

Leave a Reply

