Suck It Up, Buttercup, And Lift

Tonight I’m feeling pretty much like my hamster Tara looked last morning, after being waken up apparently too early after a hard night redecorating her apartment:

image

I’ve really busted it at the gym this week without major adrenal issues. I’m keeping thumbs up for good health to continue. Now I’m dead tired, though. Last night I got less than 5 hours of sleep. I’ve also lifted for three days in a row. Thankfully tomorrow will be all rest and recuperation.

I’ve been pondering whether I should post the weights I currently lift. I guess I’m kind of embarassed as lot of powerlifting women whose blogs I read are lightyears ahead of me. So I feel inadequate. Not “strong enough” to blog about powerlifting. Which is ridiculous, kind of, as I’m a novice, right? Everyone must start somewhere. My current weights are just that – my weights at this moment. And I can and will improve my lifts. So I thought maybe it would be good for other newbie lifters to see how much I lift and how I’m progressing. I don’t have a clue if this actually interests anyone, but here goes :).

This Monday I had a bench and back day. My upper body has always been more powerful and muscular than my lower body and I like to bench. First I did four sets of band-assisted wide grip pull ups at home as we have our own chin up bar. I was in for a treat, as my boyfriend seldom comes to train with me, but now he accompanied me to the gym and spotted me. After warming up I did four pretty easy sets of 8 reps with 40 kg. I’m still learning the bench technique so I’m satisfied with the weights I used. Then we did T-bar rows for 4 sets of 10 reps and seated rows 4 sets of 15. Workout done!

Yesterday I went alone and did a short workout – only deadlifts – 4 sets of 6 reps with 75 kg – followed by good mornings, 4 sets of 6 with 45 kg. The deads felt way heavier than normally, and my left hand grip actually failed at the last rep of the last set. My lower back started to ache during the workout and was stiff and sore at home. Thank goodness I’ve taught my boyfriend to tape my back! I’ve been interested in physical therapy for a long time now and taken courses in manual therapy, acupuncture and kinesic taping. I’ve gotten good practice treating for example my krav friends’ sports injuries :). With kinesic taping my back should be okay in a couple of days.

I have a problem back as already at twenty I was diagnosed with thoracic scoliosis and lumbar spondylolysis and olisthesis – I have old stress fractures in my lumbar 4th and 5th vertebrae’s back arch. My L5 vertebrae is also a bit displaced and the space between my lumbar spine and sacrum is narrow. Normally if I train with good technique and do pilates regularly my back doesn’t give me any trouble. Yesterday I was a bit tired and probably didn’t warm up adequately before deadlifting. My bad. Will learn and won’t repeat the same mistake. This isn’t summer anymore, my muscles won’t warm themselves up just walking to the gym…

Tonight was a real under the bar performance from me – pun intended. Whether it was the lack of sleep, my back problem or just tiredness from two previous workouts, I don’t know.

I did 5 sets of front squats for 5 reps each with – don’t laugh – 35 kilos. Yes, I bench more than I squat. I blame genetics, and last year of being sick, forced to rest and eating too high doses of Prednisolone to calm down my asthma. Too much corticosteroids simply ate away my even previously measly thigh muscles.

I was supposed to do overhead squats next and already in the first set my rear delts started cramping and I nearly dropped the bar on my head. I managed 3 sets at first with 15 kg but with second set already failed at 8th rep and had to swallow my disappointment and embarrassment and finished my last 10 reps with 12.5 kg. So, not very great. I just left for home after that.

Looking very, very hard to find some bright side after tonight’s fiasco, at least I’m happy my boyfriend came to the gym with me again today – so twice already this week! Hopefully I’ll get to train with him more often in the future. Exercising together as a couple is nice, and it’s really good to have a spotter from time to time. He has also helped video my lifts for my coach Anni as I don’t train together with her that often. That way she can assess my technique and give tips about what to improve. And boy, do I have a lot to improve!

I’m concentrating on finishing this week – and my four week training cycle. However crappy I might be at the moment, well, there’s no way but up. I’ll suck up my pride and keep grinding. Because I still love this shit <3.

Until next time,

xoxo,

Veera

11 thoughts on “Suck It Up, Buttercup, And Lift

  1. Each day is a new beginning 🙂 Don’t feel like you can’t post what you bench or press or what size weights you use. Some one may be looking to you for motivation and you don’t even know it. I feel like that ALL the time because I am still way over my “goal” weight but I’ve lost 70lbs along the way and one day I stopped posting about how dedicated I was and how I was feeling down & someone wrote me saying I changed their outlook and they started getting healthy the right way! You are doing great 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are strong and beautiful!! Be proud of each and every accomplishment! Just getting up and hitting the gym is a huge accomplishment because so many people don’t! You ARE strong!! Believe it!! Great job! You rock! XOXO

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m just going to say that you’re Superwoman 🙂 To lift and do squats while overcoming issues out of your control (like your diagnosis) is amazing! I don’t know much about powerlifting, but I’m always inspired by the women that do because it’s what they love to do! If you love something, you always put in 110% 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing this! Keep pushing on, You ROCK! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog! Agree with the other commenters, everyday is a chance for something new. Your powerlifiting sounds amazing, keep on rockin’ on! If you’d like to Skype sometime (my practice is based in Phoenix) and talk about some ways diet can help with your condition, the first consult is always free. Let me know, I’d love to chat! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

